Skip to Top Navigation Skip to Utility Navigation Skip to Search Skip to Left Navigation Skip to Content
campuscalendar_12_12_sg.jpg
Academics About U OF H
Admission Visiting Campus
Student Life Libraries
Alumni Public Purpose
News Arts & Events
Athletics Giving to U of H

Religious Observance Calendar

2013–2014

Policy regarding religious holidays: Classes are held. Students observing these days will be granted excused absences from all classes and an opportunity to make up any tests or exams given on these days.

Fall 2013

August
Eid-al-Fitr
Begins sundown Wednesday
7

Note: This Muslim holy day begins at sundown on Wednesday, August 7, and continues until darkness on Friday, August 9. The Islamic calendar is lunar and depends on the actual sighting of the new moon; therefore, the actual dates may differ by a day or two.

September
Rosh Hashanah
Begins sundown Wednesday
4

Note: This holiday officially begins at sundown on Wednesday, September 4, and continues until darkness on Friday, September 6.

Yom Kippur
Begins sundown Friday
13

Note: This holiday officially begins at sundown on Friday, September 13, and continues through darkness on Sunday, September 15.

Sukkot
Begins sundown Wednesday
18

Note: This holiday officially begins at sundown on Wednesday, September 18, and continues through darkness on Friday, September 20.

Shmini Atzeret
Begins sundown Wednesday
7

Note: This holiday officially begins at sundown on Sunday, September 25, and continues through darkness on Friday, September 27.

October
Eid-al-Adah
Begins sundown Monday
14

Note: This Muslim holy day begins at sundown on Monday, October 14, and continues until darkness on Wednesday, October 16. The Islamic calendar is lunar and depends on the actual sighting of the new moon; therefore, the actual dates may differ by a day or two.


Spring 2014

March
Ash Wednesday
Wednesday
5

Note: Student’s class may conflict with scheduled on-campus mass.

April
Passover
Begins sundown Monday
14

Note: The first two days of this holiday are celebrated from sundown on Monday, April 14, until darkness on Wednesday, April 16; the last two days of the holiday are celebrated from sundown on Sunday, April 20, until darkness on Tuesday, April 22.

Good Friday
Friday
18
June
Shavuot
Begins sundown Tuesday
3

Note: This holiday officially begins sundown on Tuesday, June 3, and continues until darkness on Thursday, June 5.

Ramadan
Begins sundown Saturday
28

Note: The first day of the Muslim fasting month begins at sundown on Saturday, June 28, and continues until darkness on Tuesday, July 29. The Islamic calendar is lunar and depends on the actual sighting of the new moon; therefore, the actual dates may differ by a day or two.

ACADEMIC MISSION

Our academic community of faculty staff, and students forms a dynamic, interdisciplinary learning environment that arises from outstanding teaching, innovative research, scholarship, and creative attainment. We are committed to the personal attention associated with a small college, enhanced by the expertise, breadth, and intellectual excitement of a university. Diversity of every sort is integral to our academic mission, along with connections to local, national, and global communities.



Red Impact Bar