Music faculty at The Hartt School Community Division
Utility NavTop NavContentLeft NavSite SearchSite SearchSite Search

Music Faculty

Our distinctive faculty are our best asset. We embrace and promote their high level of training, knowledge, and professionalism.

Early-childhood Programs

First Steps in Music

John Feierabend, Artistic Director

Connie Greenwood, Lead Teacher

Suzuki Early-Childhood Education


Adult Chamber Choir

Carolina Flores, Celesti Sondato

Chamber music

Cathryn Cummings, Winds and Brass Coordinator

Melinda Daetsch, Strings Coordinator

Jaroslaw Lis, Coach

Malgosia Lis, Piano Coordinator

Connecticut Children's Chorus

Lauren Torres, Overture Choir

Vanessa Bond, Prelude Choir

Karla McClain, Canticum Choir

Meredith Neumann, Director, CT Children's Chorus, Concert Choir, Women's Choir

Gabriel Löfvall, Men's Choir

Mark Singleton, Primi Voci

Jenna Valliere, Concert Choir Assistant


Daniel D'Addio, Connecticut Youth Symphony

Emmett Drake, Suzuki Orchestras

David Kramer, Stringendo String Orchestra

Mickey Reisman, Sinfonia String Orchestra

Wind ensembles

Glen Adsit, Greater Hartford Youth Wind Ensemble (GHYWE)

Alan Francis, Philharmonia and Harmony Winds

Private Lessons

Adaptive Music Lessons


Susan Powell, Suzuki and Traditional Bass


Blake Brasch, Suzuki Cello

Eric Dahlin, Traditional Cello

Neal HumphreysTraditional Cello

Pablo Issa, Suzuki and Traditional Cello

Laura KaneTraditional Cello

Katie Kennedy, Suzuki and Traditional Cello

Terry KingTraditional Cello

Susan Robison, Traditional Cello

Harmon Steiner, Suzuki and Cello

Mihai TetelTraditional Cello


Barbara Hopkins, Suzuki and Traditional Flute

Greig Shearer, Suzuki and Traditional Flute, Winds Department Chair

Guitar and banjo

Francesco Barone, Traditional Guitar

Dan HartingtonTraditional Guitar

David Madsen, Suzuki Guitar; Chair Guitar and Harp

Jim RickeviciusSuzuki Guitar


Cathryn Cummings

Barbara Hill, Brass Department Chair

Jamie Marci

Piano, Organ, and Harpsichord

Tamila AzadaliyevaSuzuki and Traditional Piano

Gregory Babal, Traditional Piano

Edward BolkovacTraditional Piano

Sima Brodsky, Traditional Piano

Zhong Chen, Traditional Piano

Susan Cheng, Suzuki and Traditional Piano

Barbara Johnson, Suzuki and Traditional Piano

Anchie DonnTraditional Piano

Margreet Francis, Traditional Piano, Piano Department Chair

Anna GrudskayaSuzuki and Traditional Piano

Bella Keyzner, Traditional Piano

Sooran Lee, Traditional Piano

Malgosia Lis, Suzuki Piano, Suzuki Piano Coordinator, Piano Chamber Music Coordinator

Kamilla Mammedova, Traditional Piano

Ezequiel Menéndez, Organ

Nina Miller, Suzuki and Traditional Piano

Watson Morrison, Traditional Piano

Ariel Nathanson, Traditional Piano

Victor NigriSuzuki and Traditional Piano

Liz Seidel, Traditional Piano

Pi-Hsun Shih, Traditional Piano

Dina Simanovich, Traditional Piano

Jacqueline Smith, Suzuki Piano

Arthur Villar, Suzuki and Traditional Piano

David Westfall, Traditional Piano

Ruriko Wheeler, Traditional Piano & Harpsichord


Nicholas Citro, Traditional Violin and Viola

Melinda DaetschSuzuki and Traditional violin and viola; Chamber Music Coordinator

Steve Larson,Traditional Viola

Gabriel Remillard, Suzuki and Traditional Viola

Sarah Washburn, Traditional Violin and Viola, Traditional String Department Chair

Michael Wheeler, Traditional Viola and Violin


Luciana Arraes, Suzuki and Traditional Violin

Reagan BraschViolin/Suzuki Violin and Early Childhood Education Coordinator

Nicholas Citro, Traditional Violin and Viola

Melinda DaetschSuzuki and Traditional violin and viola; Chamber Music Coordinator

Teri Einfeldt, Suzuki Violin, Suzuki String Chair

Liz Fay, Suzuki Violin

Christie Felsing, Suzuki Violin

Alexandra Hadden, Suzuki Violin

Lee Hadden, Suzuki Violin & Viola

Samantha Hiller Drake, Traditional and Suzuki Violin

Janet Jacobson, Traditional Violin

Donna Ngai, Suzuki Violin

Emlyn Ngai, Traditional Violin

Mickey Reisman, Traditional Violin

Katalin Viszmeg, Traditional Violin

Sarah Warren, Traditional Violin

Sarah Washburn, Traditional Violin and Viola, Traditional String Chair

Michael Wheeler, Traditional Viola and Violin

Lisa Woodard, Traditional Violin

Gail Yaffe, Suzuki Reading Specialist

Other Faculty

Collaborative Pianists

Martha (Mattie) Banshaf, Music

Rebecca Batista de Almieda, Music

Miguel Campinho, Music

Gaylein Chun, Music

Blake Hansen, Music

Sam Horan, Dance

Mi-Young Kim, Music

Cathy Lord, Dance and Music

Barbara Robbins, Music

Stephen Scarlato, Music

Ruth Sovronsky, Music

Yanis Srirojanun, Music

Marko Stuparevic, Music

Yoshino Toi, Music

Elisabeth Tomczyk, Music

Frank Viola, Music

Timothy Wallace, Dance