Education and Human Services Awards
Utility NavTop NavContentLeft NavSite SearchSite SearchSite Search

Education and Human Services Awards

Assistant Professor Sheetel Sood presents the Elementary/Special Ed Award to Renee Robinson

On Saturday, May 14, 2011 the Department of Education and Human Services in ENHP held a celebratory program for the graduating seniors and graduate students. Outstanding students majoring in education and human services were recognized and awards presented.  Dr. Joan Pedro, associate dean of undergraduate studies and community affairs, brought greetings on behalf of the college and welcomed everyone present.

Faculty members Lynn Cromwell and Heather Lagace present the human service award to Robin Bogen (right)

Rick King, department chair, also welcomed students and families and recognized the faculty and staff for their outstanding contributions to the Department. He noted the over-all academic excellence of the entire class before acknowledging the extraordinary accomplishments of the individual students being recognized at the time.  

Marietta Paterson, compliments the work of Joan Weir, graduate student in the Deaf Education and Aural Habilitation Program

Faculty members called their students to the podium to receive program-related awards.  Paige Bray, assistant professor of early childhood education gave  Ashley Beals and Marissa Abbatiello awards for their work in the early childhood program.  Faculty members in the elementary education program , Theresa Abodeeb-Gentile and Anna Harris  presented the elementary award to Brittany Geller and Megan Bucka.  Sheetal Sood , assistant professor, presented Renee Robinson the award for the integrated elementary/special education program. 

Faculty members Lynn Cromwell and Heather Lagace presented Robin Bogen with her award for the human services program. Marietta Paterson, director of the program in aural habilitation and education of hearing-impaired children, honored three students with the aural habilitation award:  Jessica Doyle,  Shannon Mercier, and Joan Weir.

Glenna Brooks, Christopher Carlone, and Freddie DeJesus are recognized for outstanding student teaching

Edward Lazaroff, coordinator of student teaching and faculty member presented three students with student teaching awards.  These students had been nominated by teachers in the field with whom they worked collaboratively and as student teachers. Those recognized were Glenna Brooks for the integrated program in elementary/special education; Christopher Carlone for the undergraduate program in elementary; and Freddie DeJesus for the graduate program in elementary education.

Special Awards, named in honor of Department of Education and Human Services faculty legends: S. Edward Weinswig, Marilyn Schafer, and Regina Miller, followed.   Weinswig and Miller were there to present their named awards.  Both are professors emeriti. They continue to teach part time.  The Weinswig award for Outstanding Student Teacher went to Hilary Schneider and Kristan Doyle.  The Regina Miller Heart of the Teacher Award  went to Meagan Sanderson and Kendra Dickinson (not present).  The Marilyn Schafer Award for Educational Technology was presented to Lisa Tassinari by Rick King.

Assistant Professor Paige Bray and students

Joan Pedro, Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies and Community Engagement, presented the final award to Valerie Brino.  Valerie was recognized for her leadership as exemplified in her role in the education honor society, Kappa Delta Pi, Phi Pi Chapter.  Pedro, who is also the counselor to the society, said that she could rely upon Valerie to take the lead in planning and implementing projects.

Ibrahimjon Rustamov, surprises Rick King, department chair and coordinator of educational technology, by presenting him with ceremonial apparel from Tajikistan.

Ibrahimjon Rustamov, a graduate student completing the masters program in educational technology, surprised Rick King, department chair and coordinator of educational technology, by presenting him with ceremonial apparel from Rustamov’s native country Tajikistan.

At the conclusion of the awards program, faculty, students, friends and family celebrated with refreshments in the Esphyr Slobodkina Urquhart Children’s Reading Room.