BSN Celebratory Event - May 2011
Utility NavTop NavContentLeft NavSite SearchSite SearchSite Search

BSN Celebratory Event - May 2011

Twenty nurses complete their bachelor of science in nursing (BSN) degree in May. On Wednesday, May 4, in the Konover Campus Center, ENHP's Department of Nursing celebrated the RN to BSN class of 2011 in a program honoring both community collaborators and students. The walls of the great room in Konover displayed impressive posters of the nurses' community-based projects. View project titles and community placements.

Jose Vega, Director of McKinney Shelter

Assistant Provost H. Frederick Sweitzer, ENHP Associate Deans Joan Pedro and Kevin Ball, and nursing faculty member, Anne Marie Buonocore, welcomed the students, their families and friends.  Antoinette Towle, nursing faculty, presented the 2011 Community Partnership Award for outstanding service to Project Horizon to Mr. Jose Vega, Director of the McKinney Shelter.  Vega is extremely supportive of the community work the nurses do as part of their final courses in the RN to BSN program.  He identifies needs in the McKinney shelter and suggests relevant projects that will benefit shelter residents and enhance the nurses' learning.

Cora Ekwurtzel (Pipeling Award) and Pamalyn Lalor-Kanhai (Matheson Award)

Towle went on to recognize two nurses with special honors.  Cora M. Ekwurtzel (left) received the Laura Pipeling Award. As was the nature of Laura Pipeling, a former RN to BSN student who did not live to complete her degree, the recipient is someone the class sees as an exemplary scholar, respectful and supportive of each individual classmate, with the ability to unify all.  Trina C. Boyce (right) received the Nadia Matheson Memorial Award for Cultural Understanding. This award was created in memory of Nadia Matheson ’07 for her calming influence and her understanding of cultural differences and challenges. Both nurses hold the placques that remain in the Department of Nursing.  Their names have both been added to the list of prior award winners.

The formal part of the ceremony continued with the charge to the class of 2011 by Trina C. Boyce.  Pamelyn Lalor-Kanhai wrote and read an often  humorous and sometimes poignant poem, Our Journey. As the celebration came to a close, the student nurses recognized each of their faculty with flowers.