Skip to Top NavigationSkip to Utility NavigationSkip to SearchSkip to Left NavigationSkip to Content
Mobile Menu

Breadth Categories

All students in baccalaureate programs at the University are required to take at least four University Interdisciplinary Studies (UIS) courses during their four years.

UISA: Artistic and Creative Expression

Develop cultural empathy: the ability to understand different cultures and to appreciate rich and important lives, and engage the imagination, foster alternative ways of thinking, enlarge and refine artistic perception, and encourage participation in the arts.  Read more.


UISC: Cultural and Historical Interpretation

Learn the history, philosophy, literature, and art of Western culture and examine the development of social institutions, government, and politics.  Read more.


UISS: Social Context and Change

Comprehend individual needs and behaviors, group relationships and processes, and the evolution and nature of institutions.  Read more.


UIST: Natural, Scientific, and Technological Exploration

Seek to develop a greater awareness of science and technology and their impact on society.  Read more.