Skip to Top NavigationSkip to Utility NavigationSkip to SearchSkip to Left NavigationSkip to Content
Mobile Menu

About the Senate

The University of Hartford Faculty Senate is authorized in Part III, Article III Section 3 of the University's Charter and Bylaws as the only official faculty organization at the University. It actively engages 31 Faculty Senators representing all seven schools and colleges of the University. A faculty member who is full-time and has been in residence for a year or more is eligible to run for the Senate. Elections for three-year terms are held at each college's faculty meetings. Currently, there are 112 faculty in Arts & Sciences, 37 in Barney, 48 in CETA, 42 in ENHP, and 57 in Hartt. The Hartford Art School has 27 faculty, Hillyer has 36. University Studies has 1.5 for a total of 361 faculty

There are 8 Standing Committees of the Faculty Senate, listed in the Senate Bylaws.

Faculty Senate Chairs History

The Senate Chair is a full-time faculty member. The other Senate officers are Vice Chair  and Secretary.  The Senate has a part-time Administrative Assistant/Coordinator. The Senate meets monthly during the academic year during two consecutive happy hours. The meetings are continued on a subsequent date if the volume of business dictates a continuance. Nonvoting visitors who regularly are invited to attend the meeting include a representative of the Staff Association, a representative from the Student Government Association (SGA), the President, the Provost, and other administrators on a rotating basis (for only a portion of meetings). During the summer, the Senate Officers are traditionally empowered to act on behalf of the full Senate.

The Executive Committee of the Senate meets monthly, before the full Senate meeting, and sets the Senate Agenda. The Executive Committee is composed of the Senate Officers and Committee Chairs. The administration consults with Faculty Senate Executive members for advice and feedback on issues of concern.

In addition to its role in approving all curriculum changes, the Senate makes a major contribution to setting academic policies and procedures through its role in changing the Manual of Academic Policies and Procedures (MAPP) and the Faculty Policy Manual (FPM). Changes to the Manual of Academic Policies and Procedures are initially approved by the Student Affairs Committee of the Senate for issues related to students, and by the Curriculum Committee for issues related to the curriculum review process. Changes to the Faculty Policy Manual (FPM) are initially approved by the Senate's Faculty Affairs committee. Proposed changes may be initiated by faculty or the Council of Deans.

These committees then present the proposals to the full Senate for review and approval. Should there be a disagreement about a proposal between the Senate and the Council of Deans, the proposals are then sent to the Faculty Senate/Deans Joint Committee, which includes the three Senate officers plus representatives of the Council of Deans, as appointed by the Provost. Changes approved by both the Council of Deans and the Faculty Senate must be approved by the Provost, the President, and the Executive Committee of the Board of  Regents before being enacted.

(Revised 5-10-07; 1-4-08; 8-1-08; 9-23-13; 5-23-14; 12-11-15)