Skip to Top Navigation Skip to Utility Navigation Skip to Search Skip to Left Navigation Skip to Content
Academics About U OF H
Admission Visiting Campus
Student Life Libraries
Alumni Public Purpose
News Arts & Events
Athletics Giving to U of H

Senate Definition

The University of Hartford Faculty Senate is authorized in Part III, Article III Section 3 of the University's Charter and Bylaws as the only official faculty organization at the University. It actively engages 31 Faculty Senators representing all seven schools and colleges of the University. A faculty member who is full-time and has been in residence for a year or more is eligible to run for the Senate. Elections for three-year terms are held at each college's faculty meetings. Currently, there are 106.33 faculty in Arts & Sciences, 36 in Barney, in 35 CETA, 37.5 in ENHP, and 53 in Hartt. The Hartford Art School has 25 faculty, Hillyer has 38.17, University Studies has 1.5 for a total of 334.5 faculty

There are 10 Standing Committees of the Faculty Senate. For a comple list, click below:

Senate Committees

Faculty Senate Chairs History

The Senate Chair is a full-time faculty member who receives a one-course teaching load reduction for duties as Senate Chair. The other Senate officers are Vice Chair (also eligible for a one-course reduction) and Secretary.  The Senate has a 10-month Administrative Assistant/Coordinator. The Senate meets monthly during the academic year for three hours. The meetings are continued on a subsequent date if the volume of business dictates a continuance. Nonvoting visitors who regularly attend the meeting include the president, the provost, other administrators on a rotating basis (for only a portion of meetings), and representatives from the Student Government Association (SGA) and the Emeriti Association.

The Executive Committee of the Senate meets monthly, before the full Senate meeting, and sets the Senate Agenda. The Executive Committee is composed of the Senate Officers and Committee Chairs. The administration consults with Faculty Senate Executive members for advice and feedback on issues of concern. This confidential consultation also includes approval of person-specific issues such as renewals of all Extended Temporary Contracts (ETC). During the summer and vacation periods, the Executive Committee is traditionally empowered to act on behalf of the full Senate.

In addition to its role in approving all new courses and course changes, the Senate makes a major contribution to setting academic policies and procedures through its role in changing the Manual of Academic Policies and Procedures (MAPP) and the Faculty Policy Manual (FPM). Changes to the Manual of Academic Policies and Procedures can be initiated from any source, and are approved by the Student Affairs Committee of the Senate and are reviewed for approval by the full Senate before going to the Council of Deans, the Provost, and the President for further action, and, ultimately, enactment.

Changes to the Faculty Policy Manual (FPM) typically are proposed to either the Council of Deans or the Faculty Senate's Faculty Affairs Committee. Such proposals are then analyzed within the Faculty Senate/Deans Joint Committee, which includes three members from each body plus the dean of faculty development. Changes approved by both the Council of Deans and the Faculty Senate must be approved by the Executive Committee of the Board of  Regents before being enacted.

(Revised 5-10-07; 1-4-08; 8-1-08; 9-23-13)

Constitution and Bylaws

Image of lawnhotweather_pod.jpg

The following Constitution of the University Faculty Senate was voted on and approved unanimously by the Senators at the Faculty Senate meeting...

Red Impact Bar