Skip to Top NavigationSkip to Utility NavigationSkip to SearchSkip to Left NavigationSkip to Content
Mobile Menu

Nancy Stuart

Hartford Art School

Phone: 860.768.4391

Nancy Stuart has served as dean of the Hartford Art School at the University of Hartford since 2012.  Prior to HAS she was the Executive Vice President and Provost of the Cleveland Institute of Art.  As provost she worked with the faculty to adapt the five-year BFA curriculum to a four-year curriculum, gained approval for three new majors, coordinated the 2010-2014 strategic plan, and led the faculty in the design of a new 250,000 square foot facility. 

Earlier in her career, Nancy taught photography at Lansing Community College (1975-1984) where she and her colleagues grew the program from two courses to a two year program with over 500 students. At Rochester Institute of Technology (1984-2002), she began as an assistant professor in the School of Photographic Arts and Sciences (SPAS). She was elected by her peers to chair the Applied Photography Department in 1991, and three years later appointed to Associate Director of SPAS. While working as Associate Dean she helped create the College of Imaging Arts and Sciences by merging the College of Graphic Arts and Photography with the College of Fine and Applied Arts.

 Nancy earned her PhD from SUNY Buffalo Graduate School of Education in 2005. Her dissertation, The History of Photographic Education in Rochester, N.Y. 1960-1980, was based on oral histories collected from photographers and teachers in the upstate area. She was an editor for the fourth edition of the Focal Press Encyclopedia of Photography released in 2007.  Visual Studies Workshop Press published her photographic project DES Stories: Faces and Voices of People Exposed to Diethylstilbestrol in 2001. Her photographic work is in the collection of The George Eastman House and she has had numerous solo and group exhibitions during her career.

She served on the executive committee of the Society of Photographic Educators (SPE) national board of directors from 2007 to 2015. She is currently on the Board of Governors of the Hill-Stead Museum, serves on the Board of Electors for the Wadsworth Antheneum and was elected in 2016 as Member of the Commission on Accreditation of the National Association of Schools of Art and Design.