Skip to Top NavigationSkip to Utility NavigationSkip to SearchSkip to Left NavigationSkip to Content
Mobile Menu

Jerry Franklin

Jerry Franklin is president and chief executive officer of Jerry FranklinConnecticut Public Broadcasting, Inc. He oversees the parent company of Connecticut Public Television (CPTV) and WNPR-Connecticut Public Radio. CPTV and WNPR's community-supported, statewide public broadcasting networks are dedicated to serving diverse communities with a mix of educational, news, public affairs, children's, and entertainment programming and services.

Franklin was appointed to his current position at the Hartford-based broadcasting company in 1985. Under his leadership, CPTV has won two National Daytime Emmy Awards, 95 Regional Emmy Awards, 392 Regional Emmy Award nominations, seven CINE Golden Eagle Awards, and one Gracie Allen Award. WNPR has earned two George Foster Peabody Awards, five Ohio State Awards, two Gracie Allen Awards, and more than 60 Associated Press Awards, including eight Mark Twain Awards for Overall Station Excellence.

In November 2013, Franklin was the recipient of the Silver Circle Award.  The award, given by the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences, honors individuals for their enduring contributions to the vitality of the television industry.  The Silver Circle honors television professionals who have performed distinguished service within the industry for more than 25 years.