Celebrating Nearly Three Centuries of Teaching Excellence
Utility NavTop NavContentLeft NavSite SearchSite SearchSite Search

Celebrating Nearly Three Centuries of Teaching Excellence

from left: Charles Ross, Robert Logan, Bruce Esposito, Raymond McGivney, and Joel Kagan. not pictured: Harvey Jassem and William Stull

Bruce Esposito, Harvey Jassem, Joel Kagan, Robert Logan, Raymond McGivney, Charles Ross, and William Stull will be retiring this May, after dedicating 299 years of service to the College of Arts and Sciences and the University. They will be sorely missed by their colleagues and students.  

  • Bruce Esposito, PhD, associate professor of history, arrived on campus in 1968. Esposito's research focuses on Asian affairs with a special concentration in economic and energy development, and military affairs.

  • Harvey Jassem, PhD, professor of communication, first came to the University in 1977. Jassem's scholarship is in media policy and emerging media.  He served as director of the School of Communication for nine years.

  • Joel Kagan, PhD, associate professor of mathematics, arrived at the University in 1970. Kagan served as department chair of Mathematics and Physics for 24 years and Computer Science for 21 years, and also served as  associate dean of budget and finance for the College for 18 years.

  • Robert Logan, PhD, professor of English, came to the University in 1970. Logan is a Christopher Marlowe and William Shakespeare scholar, and has served as department chair for a total of 17 years.

  • Raymond McGivney, PhD, professor of mathematics, also first came to the College in 1970. During his tenure, McGivney served as department chair, college dean, dean of faculty, and dean of students.

  • Charles Ross, PhD, professor of English, arrived on campus in 1979. Ross's scholarship includes publications on D.H. Lawrence as well as digital literature and theory.  

  • William Stull, PhD, professor of English, came to the University in 1979. Stull's research focus is the American short story writer, poet, and essayist Raymond Carver, who received an honorary degree from UHart in 1988.